On September 11, 2001, I was

on my way to the doughnuts store I had opened two months before in Mexico City. Geographic distance is a tricky element that leads to forget how close we are in other aspects -such as economic- nowadays.  For instance, I have been running the referred business with other stores for about one year with  relatively good results, however after 09/11/01, the sales dropped (almost immediately) up to 50 percent. By October, I had closed one and eventually -in less than four months, I ended up selling all of them for the good. Note that I am talking of a micro-business (the one that you don’t have in the list of those with a high likelihood of getting a DRASTIC impact from international events). I guess I learned more of international economics through baking donuts than in college.

Brooklyn Bridge

Brooklyn Bridge

What were you doing?

One thought on “On September 11, 2001, I was

Leave a Reply

